NaNoWriMo Update: Day 20

        Well, there are only ten days left. Ten more days of writing before I’m finished or not. I hope I can finish it, though at this point I don’t know. I’ve done pretty well keeping up to (or in close range of) par. There are things in life that get in the way of my writing though. Well, they don’t exactly get in the way so much as pull me aside and claim my attention.


For instance, this last week I twisted my ankle walking out to the van to take my daughter to school. That was painful and kept me from writing. I cannot write when I’m in pain. It wasn’t a terrible pain, but my concentration was on ways to lay my foot so that it wouldn’t jar the ankle. That was enough to distract me from writing.

Then – and please bear in mind that I am a Twilight fan. I love the originality of the vampires and the story and even some of the characters – Thursday night my sister, my brother’s girlfriend, Hubs, and I went to the midnight premier of Breaking Dawn Part 1. And let me tell you, it was the best movie yet. Charlie is awesome and easily one of my favorite characters in the movies.

When we got home that night (around 2:45 am) my daughter was awake. She had a fever and an ear ache. So, Friday, she missed school and that makes it harder for me to write. (She still has a high fever. I’m thinking ear infection.)

Of course, there’s also the daily family life that distracts. Feeding the children, drop-off and pick-up at school, feeding Hubs, feeding the cat, doing laundry, washing dishes (because you run out of paper plates and forget to pick more up at the store), etc. It goes on and on.

Add to all of that the fact that just a couple of days ago, Hubs and I decided to have Thanksgiving for the family at our house. That means scrubbing floors and walls and trying to find places to hide all the crap you don’t want to throw away, but clutters up the house. And, I’ve never cooked a turkey before. That is going to be one hell of an experience and I will need all the coffee and Red Bull I can safely have at one time. I’ll probably crash at about nine o’clock that evening. If not while the turkey is being carved.

Anyways, that’s what last week and this upcoming week look to hold for me. Let’s hope I can still get a good 2000 words a day in… Okay, I’m goaling at 500. Anything more than that will be a huge win as far as I’m concerned!

Total word count as of Day 20: 27,881


On another note, I’ve been awarded this:


By the lovely Krista at I Take the Pen, a lovely blog worth checking out.

I’m supposed to award it to five other bloggers and here they are, a group of bloggers who are so worth your time, you’ll thank me for pointing them out (if you don’t read them already!):

Sommer Leigh – an awesome person who does a lot to support fellow writers

J.A. Bennett – she’s already been given this award, but I must second that sentiment since she is quite lovely herself, as well as her blog=)

Glynis Smy – if you don’t follow her blog already, you really, really should! Wonderful woman with a great voice!

Christine Rains – a fellow Hoosier and NaNoWriMo participant, I really enjoy reading her blogs=)

Sarah Pearson – I met her during the #writecampaign and absolutely love her Musical Stories Series

Well, there you have it. I feel like I’m forgetting something though… Hmm. Well, if I figure it out, I’ll try to make time to post about it during the week before Thirsty Thursday (a.k.a. Thanksgiving). 

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog awards, NaNoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaNoWriMo Update: Day 20

  1. Sophia Chang says:

    You got your husband to go to BD's midnight showing? UNICORN!BTW, have you considered turning off word verification?

  2. Glynis says:

    Kathleen, thank you so much for the award and for your beautiful compliment! Hugs x

  3. Congratulations on your award and thank you for thinking of me :-)You sound like you've had a real week of it!

  4. Congrats on your award! Best wishes for NaNo, Thanksgiving, and your daughter's health. Would you like to join me in a last minute A to Z Thanksgiving Challenge? The link is: http://tyreanswritingspot.blogspot.com/2011/11/thankfulness-and-to-z-thanksgiving.html

Comments are closed.