NaNoWriMo: Day 2 Update

        
        It’s Day 2 of NaNoWriMo and already my experience far different than my first time. Back in 2009 I attempted the month long challenge and failed miserably. There were several reasons for this.


First, I wasn’t as serious about being a writer. I had not yet accepted that it was okay for me to want to write and be published one day. I was still struggling with that fear of what others would think. I’m glad that changed.

Second, I was trying to do it long hand. That’s right. I was trying to write a novel of 50,000 words by hand. I had planned on transcribing it to computer once I had it written. Yeah, that didn’t happen.

Third, I only wrote during the write-ins at a nearby library. No other time. Not once. And I only went to two of the write-ins. By the end, my total word count was somewhere around 1200. Yeah, I was missing about 48,000 words. I still haven’t finished that particular novel, though I do want to. I love the idea for that novel, but it’s not its time yet. Oddly enough, it’s a dystopian that I was writing right around the time when they were starting to be picked up in large numbers… Hmm.

Anyway, I’m a more serious writer now. Because of that reason, I believe it possible for me to finish NaNoWriMo with a win this year. I’m not going to say absolutely that it will happen though. It’s possible for me to win, but I might not. It all depends on how the month goes and November is a very busy month for me. Not only do I have Thanksgiving along with the other people here in the US of A, but there are two other days that will take away from my writing time. Yes, I know. Some of you are sitting there screaming at me. ( “TWO DAYS? THAT’S ALL?” ) They’re big days though.

The first big day is tomorrow. Hubs and I will be celebrating our 7th anniversary=) That means a day of cleaning to his OCD happiness. It’s been a challenge for him to be married to a writer who would prefer to create interesting stories and characters than wash dishes. Or vacuum the floor. Or hang up the clean clothes. He’s a trooper though and definitely my biggest fan. I’m a lucky woman to have such support from such a wonderful man.

The second big day comes in a couple of weeks when Little Man turns three years old. My baby is getting too big! It’s hard enough having one in school, but now my youngest is ready to be potty trained! HOW DID THIS HAPPEN? I’m excited about it though. I asked him what he wanted for his birthday and he just said, “Cake.” Kid knows what he wants=)



Then there’s Thanksgiving. It’s a busy day of cooking and visiting family and corralling youngin’s. Basically, it’s like every other exhausting holiday.

But, so far I’m above where I need to be for this NaNo challenge. Day 1 was successful in the fact that I was able to get 1815 words written in just three sporadic hours throughout the day. Today looks to be as busy as yesterday, so I need to head out and get to my NaNo novel. I’m hoping to do as well today as I did yesterday. Wish me luck!!



1815 / 50000 words. 4% done!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaNoWriMo: Day 2 Update

  1. Joshua says:

    You did better than I did yesterday. I woke up with a killer migraine and only put down about 300 words. Playing catch-up tonight. And then some, hopefully. Good luck to you!

  2. Kathleen says:

    @Joshua I hate those things! Good luck to you too. I'm sure you'll be able to catch up=)

  3. Cortney says:

    I prefer writing ideas longhand first, actually! Then when I take them to the computer I flesh them out a little more!! And your cake/pi picture made me laugh. Congrats on your anniversary!

Comments are closed.