A Small Difference Between a Train and a Mack Truck

        


Wednesday morning I woke up to another cold. It would be the third in a month and a half. My daughter is in school now, so I expected more germs to find their way into the house, but I never expected them to attack so ferociously. Or, I never expected my immune system to be so inept at fighting the things off. Still, I thought this time would be like the others, so I finished up my Rule of Three entry, posted it, and went around reading other entries. Once done, I got to work on a couple of other projects, surfed the web a bit, and took care of things around the house. I should have taken it easy. By the end of the night I felt horrid.


Then, in the wee hours of Thursday morning I woke up to every muscle in my body ripping itself apart, my head in the throws of vice grip-dom. Turns out I had a super high fever. About an hour later, after taking lots of medicine and laying on the couch with an ice pack to my temple, I woke up feeling less like I’d been hit by a train and more like I’d been hit by a mack truck. A small difference, but a difference none the less.



The rest of the day was spent with me on the couch deciding every character on SpongeBob is annoying when your head is pounding. Before going to bed that night I got on here long enough to let everyone know there would be no Thirsty Thursday but should resume next week.


Yesterday was a million times better, but I was still sickly. I posted my Monsterfest entry, did a bit more work on my NaNo outline, and went in search of more pictures of my characters. By noon, I was exhausted so I spent the rest of the day playing Angry Birds and watching Sanctuary.

So, as you can see, sometimes writing has no choice but to take a back seat. Your health is more important than your writing. If you aren’t healthy, you won’t be able to write effectively. I wish I could have finished my Rule of Three post and my Monsterfest post before I got sick, but I didn’t and, while I’m still pleased with how they turned out, I know I could have done better had I not been sick. So take care of yourselves! Eat right, exercise, take your vitamins. And don’t forget to do the things that make you happy (besides writing) whether that be reading, hiking, or playing the ukulele.




Today is so much better, Hubs and I will be taking Precious to a Haunted House here in town. She’s been begging us to go since she heard about it. I anticipate an interesting (and fun and healthy) night=)



About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in sick. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Small Difference Between a Train and a Mack Truck

  1. Joshua says:

    Hope you're feeling better by now. Happy Halloween!

Comments are closed.