A Confession – Mommy Style

        I have a confession to make. I love putting my son in orange. The color is amazing on him and for that reason, when I shop for his clothes, I automatically look for all things orange. Hubs will find a shirt for Little Man and I automatically look to see if they have that same shirt in the right color.

See? He looks good in orange!
I look for the prettiest clothes for Precious and now she’s of an age where she likes to decide on her own. As long as it’s not “skinny jeans” (she’s only five for chrissake!) I don’t care what she wants. Purple is a great color on her.

I’ve never really been style conscious for myself. I mean, I like some of what’s out there, but there’s other stuff that makes the woman wearing it look like a peacock, now matter how gorgeous she’s suppose to be. Peacocks are gorgeous themselves. Add a woman to the mix and it gets confusing. Add me to the mix and it gets ridiculous.
Uhm… No.

Anyways, my colors are usually black, gray, or brown. I have a couple of blue sweaters and a couple of colorful shirts, but I rarely use the entire spectrum and I feel awkward wearing the shirts. The sweaters are okay because I’m a sweater lover. I love winter so I can get all my sweaters and hoodies out and be warm and comfortable and generally care-free. I love care-free.

I have an obsession with shoes though… Oh, how I love shoes. Platform heels are a curiosity to me. I want some, but I know I would never be able to walk in them. I haven’t broken down and bought any yet. Mainly because I don’t have anything to wear them with. Boots are my thing. In the summer I’m a flip-flop kinda gal. In the winter, I love all things boot. Most of the time, I wear hiking boots. I’m not a hiker. I just like the fit and the style and how comfortable they are. Give me a good pair of combat looking boots with a feminine twist and I’m in heaven.



I got the boots, I should take up hiking!
I – along with a lot of women – also have a pair of Uggs. They are not my favorite. They are warm on a cold winter day, but they lack the traction needed for snow. My hiking boots are better for that. Then there are the “hooker” boots. That’s what Hubs calls them. They are my I-look-really-awesome-today-and-you-know-it boots. Black knee-high boots with 3” heel killers. Le sigh. There are, of course, more shoes that just those few in my closet, but they are too numerous to go through them all.



Not the ones I have… Yet.
I am, more than anything, a jeans and t-shirt kinda woman. I’ve always been that way. T-shirts in the summer, tanks with sweaters in the winter. Jeans all year round. Hiking boots and flip-flops as needed. I try to be more eclectic when getting clothes for my kids… Well, I don’t really know if you can call orange eclectic, but my kids have a plethora of clothing to chose from.

I’ll stick to simple and care-free=)
*Images linked to source

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Confession – Mommy Style

  1. That boots are killer cool! I love to put my boy in blue and my girl in pink, call me old fashioned!

  2. Joshua says:

    I love putting myself in orange. All year round.And you're right, you need to own those boots. They are killer.

  3. I'm with you – t-shirt, jeans, sweater. Makes it easy to choose what to wear every day.But I love to dress up my son in different colours, just because he's adorable no matter how outrageous the outfit seems on the hanger. 🙂

  4. Mel Fowler says:

    Sweaters are great, but shoes are better…So with heels, you just have to find a pair you like buy them an wear them. I never had a pair until I went shopping with my sister, and now I own lots of stilettos, and guess what, I can walk in them too.You should definitely take up hiking, if you own nice boots you should be hiking. Have you ever heard of chacos? Best sandals ever. seriously, or tevas. Sorry, I'm a lover of shoes too.

Comments are closed.