Insecure Writers and a WINNER!

       Today is the first Wednesday of the month, which means it’s time for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group blog post! The last post I did was about fear and how that fear had brought me to a halt on my WiP. With the comments and suggestions I got, I was able to push past that fear and am on the right track again. Yay! But, while I am no longer afraid of my writing, I seem to have lost a lot of time to write. So, that’s what I’m going to discuss today. Time and time management.

Truth be told, I could manage my time a lot better than I do. This new school year, with my daughter starting Kindergarten, has left me disheveled. But I have allowed myself to stay that way and not pull myself back into a good schedule that works for me and my family. How do I do that? Discipline. It works in all areas of life, even in writing. Without discipline, nothing would get done.

Instead of hitting the snooze button a couple of times in the morning, I will get up when it goes off the first time saving myself a good 10 minutes. Instead of picking up my book first thing when I get up (even though I want to really, really bad), I will get dressed and get my daughter’s and son’s clothes ready. All of that takes 5 minutes at most, but I would take my time and a half hour would go by. With discipline, the problem is fixed and I have given myself 25 minutes of extra time.

Now, all of this is easy enough to say, but how easy is it to do? Well, not so easy at first, but the more you do it and MAKE yourself do it, the easier it gets and soon enough, you don’t have to make yourself do it.

I think scheduling time is a big problem in some writers lives. Many of the blogs I follow are working or stay at home moms with full time commitments. Yet, it’s discipline that gets them to that computer or pad of paper and allows them the time to write. They want to write. They have time set aside for it. They do it. They don’t sit around thinking about doing it, wishing they could do it, but ignore the fact that they need the schedule to make writing easier. This is something I have known for a while, but chose to ignore.

Not any longer. Tonight, I will sit down with a pen and paper and I will create a schedule that works for me and my family and I will make it happen every day. I will give myself time to read and write. I will allow for traffic (which is minimal in my small town). I will find my discipline and use it to kick my butt back into gear and CREATE the time I need to get my WiP finished!

Who’s with me?

Now, it’s time to announce the WINNER of Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead for my 100 Followers Giveaway! Let’s give a big congratulations to…..

VIVIEN!!!

Vivien, I will be in contact with you shortly to get your address so I can send you your new book!!

Stay tuned for another chance to win a fabulous prize coming soon!!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in advice. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Insecure Writers and a WINNER!

  1. KH LeMoyne says:

    Kathleen, way to go. I love the approach of organizing more time into the day. Good luck. I'll be on NaNo as well so if you want some support link up and I'll shout out.~Kate http://fantasypoweredbylove.com/

  2. Good for you for seeing the problem and taking steps to fix it. You can do it!

  3. I love reading these posts becasue everyone is so strong and inspiring! Keep it up! 🙂

  4. Sophia Chang says:

    Ai yai yai…if I don't make a to do list every day I seriously get nothing done.

  5. I am so envious of people who can keep a schedule–it takes an iron will. I'm hoping your focus and discipline rubs of on me!

  6. The determination in your words tells me you will succeed.

  7. Hi, new follower and fellow insecure writer here. I have to say, discipline is something I REALLY struggle with. Sometimes I spend hours when I could be writing doing so many other, unnecessary things. I'm definitely with you – I need to kick this laziness in the Butt!! Great post! Thanks for the encouragement!- http://pensuasion.blogspot.com/

Comments are closed.