In Which I Want To Throw A Book Through A Window

       I have come across a few books in my life that have left me so enthralled I had to laugh when the characters laughed, cry when the characters cried, and jump up and down in joy at the characters triumphs. I have been reading such a series for the last month. I’m sure you’ve heard of it: A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. I am on the third book in the series, A Storm of Swords. And at one point last night, when done reading a particular chapter, I wanted nothing more than to throw the book through the window I was so enraged by what I had just read… But I also wanted to keep reading! There have been plenty of things that have left me… disturbed throughout this series. Things that, while atrocious nowadays, were more likely commonplace a thousand years ago. Now, this series is by no means meant to be historical. It is a work of Fantasy. But I had to accept things happening in this world that made my skin crawl. It is the way the world George R. R. Martin built works. And there are things in this world that are wondrous as well as treacherous.

But I return to my original point. I wanted to throw the book through the window because I didn’t see it coming, this point in the book that infuriated me. Looking back now, I should have. The signs were all there, not only for the characters to see, but for the reader as well. But the characters didn’t, and neither did I. I was suddenly faced with three choices: 1) Throw the book out of the window, 2) reach my hand through the book and squeeze the neck of the character that brought my anger about, or 3) keep reading and hope things get better.

I couldn’t throw the book through the window because I borrowed it from my sister. It’s quite impossible to reach into a book to do anything (though wouldn’t that be cool!) so that didn’t happen. The only thing I was really left able to do was continue to read… And the next chapter left me depressed and the chapter after that I had to quit halfway through. I went to bed but couldn’t sleep because the story kept playing through my mind.

There had been a part earlier in this same book where I was so proud of one of the characters I literally felt like I had watched one of my children take their first steps or hear them say their first words.

It’s a great thing, to read a book that can affect you so. For that reason, no matter what happens in the story, I will keep reading. Even through all the tragedies I have no doubt will happen and even when I become enraged again, as I’m sure will happen also, I will keep reading to the last.

And all I have left to say is:

Damn you, George R. R. Martin… And thank you.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Which I Want To Throw A Book Through A Window

  1. Wow, interesting. I haven't read him and now I want to.

  2. Cortney says:

    I love it when books take over me like that! That's exactly how I felt when Frodo put the ring on his finger instead of throwing it into Mt. Doom. Except I was reading it in the back of the auditorium during a school choir concert, so I couldn't throw the book then either!

  3. I love books that get me into a rage like that! i tried reading this series, but I just couldn't get into it so I gave up. (and I don't care to go back either, but that's just me) But I love that it make you react this way!

  4. I love Martin's stuff but I agree, he infuriates me sometimes. Just when I get attached to a character and think they are irreplaceable–well, you know what happens to them.

  5. Love this post! I think it's great that you recognize how the writer's skill is what makes you feel so strongly, and even if you don't agree with his choices you finish the journey. Sometimes as readers we anticipate one thing (the thing we want to happen for whatever reason) and when we don't get it we feel angry and call the book "bad" or give up on it before finishing. I'd be interested to hear how you feel once you've finished it. 🙂

Comments are closed.