Challenge Met

       It is time for the Second Campaigner Challenge! I didn’t participate in the first one because I was a judge and while I would not have judged my own entry, I felt it inappropriate to submit a work of my own. I enjoyed reading all the entries though, and congratulate the winners!

The rules for this challenge are:

Write a blog post in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, whether flash fiction, non-fiction, humorous blog musings, poem, etc. The blog post should:

  • include the word “imago” in the title
  • include the following 4 random words: “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,”

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional and included in the word count), make reference to a mirror in your post.
For those who want an even greater challenge (optional), make your post 200 words EXACTLY!

Makes for some fun, doesn’t it=) It is certainly a challenge though, and one I’ve dug deep to meet. (It is exactly 200 words and there’s a reference to a mirror involved… can you find it?) Here follows my entry:

Mother Imago

The garden glowed under the stars: a miasma of bright colors and heady scents. I reached for her hand, taking comfort in the warmth.

“Momma?”

“What is it, child?”

I asked a question I already knew the answer to. “Is Daddy coming home?”

“You inquire where I see you already know the truth,” she said as she searched my eyes.

“He’s not.”

“No,” she said wiping a tear from my cheek. She walked into her garden next to a koi pond reflecting the full moon. “Do not fear the lacuna you feel in your heart.”

I didn’t know what that meant, but I nodded.

She started dancing then. It was swaying at first, but soon her feet and arms moved to a melody I couldn’t hear. She moves like the wind, I thought.

That’s when the flowers started to grow. Later, I would think it a dream. I’m not so certain now.

“Do not oscitate at me, child,” she said, never stopping her dance. “Join me in my dance of mourning.”

I walked to where she moved with more grace than I could ever hope for. Even then I wondered at the synchronicity of her dance and the growing flowers.

*Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY!! And stop by to read and vote for other entries in the challenge=) Also, I’m number 49 on the list!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in #writecampaign. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Challenge Met

  1. Very beautiful scene despite the sadness. I loved the flowers growing as she danced. (I'm 44)

  2. Sonia Lal says:

    Lovely lovely images! Like your use of the words, too.

  3. Kathleen says:

    @Ruth Hartman Berge Thanks=) I actually based the story on a part of the world my WiP takes place in. I'm glad you liked it=)

  4. Kathleen says:

    @Sonia Lal Thanks! It was difficult to find the right use of them, but I'm happy with what I've done=)

  5. F.E. Sewell says:

    Absolutely beautiful! I loved the last line. You've written a wonderful story.

  6. Heather says:

    This is lovely! You did an amazing job. I wanted to keep reading!

  7. Very nicely done. Mine is #29

  8. Very nicely done. Great use of the words and creating a nice story along with it.

  9. Isis Rushdan says:

    I enjoyed this. Beautiful scene.

  10. Nicely done. You took those few words and made a beautiful story.

  11. That was lovely, and neat use of the mirror image 🙂

  12. Certainly easy to visualize the scene with your descriptions. Well done!

  13. Cortney says:

    I was drawn in from the start! Love your images! And it definitely has a sad undertone, though the recreation of life with the dancing and the flowers helps renew that. Nicely done!

  14. Kathleen says:

    Wow! Thanks everyone=)

  15. Really liked this scene, the image of life responding to life even in the face of loss–like the energy is being directed back into the growth of the flowers. Nice piece!

  16. @J. A. Bennett I also liked the way you changed your blog 🙂

  17. Great post! And great use of those words! I had to look up the meaning on three of them. 🙂

  18. Lady Gwen says:

    Very evocative. I loved how the flowers grew when she danced…if only, lol. A job well done! I'm #34:)

  19. Very nice, love the dance that made flowers grow! ; )

  20. Tara Tyler says:

    sweet sad story, well spoken!

  21. christyfarmer says:

    …and may the dancing lead to the creation of her own happy ending 😉

  22. This was sad, but at the same time I felt it was uplifting with the flowers. Awesome flash fiction. 🙂

  23. It was sad and lovely. Good job!

  24. A very sweet scene! Details, dialogue, spot one. I'm curious about what makes the flowers grow.Great job, Kathleen! 🙂

  25. LadyJai says:

    Beautiful, yet sad. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  26. Zan Marie says:

    I liked the reflection of the koi pond. Great reference to a mirror, if you ask me. Your mood was delightful.

  27. Aww, that was beautiful. Sad, but beautiful. 🙂

  28. Beautiful. I love the contrast between their sadness and the growing flowers. Definitely curious about the world this piece comes from 🙂

  29. Claire says:

    So sad and yet, so beautiful. I felt hope in the growing flowers and dancing.

  30. Ron Smith says:

    Well done. It has an immediate sense of place and conflict.Nice job.

  31. Good use of words, and excellent writing skills, good story. Good job.

  32. Beautiful imagery and yet so sad. You did a great job!#189

Comments are closed.