Life: It’s Not Just About Writing

       I’ve got my work cut out for me today! Not only do I need to update my What I’m Reading page, but I also need to update my Thirsty Thursday page. Things that, while seemingly easy to do, are time consuming. To do all of that on top of writing this here blog post, cleaning, taking care of Little Man, and getting in some writing around the errands I have to run today, I will probably be passed out at the computer before I have a chance to cook supper! Well, that may be an exaggeration, but only because I take my caffeine through an IV and have an addiction to Mountain Dew.

Some other things I have to do this weekend include shoe shopping for Little Man and a bit of clothes shopping for both my kids. Luckily, a friend of mine introduced me to this great consignment shop in a nearby town. She has two little boys and has given us lots of clothes for Little Man, but he’s a growing boy and requires clothes up the wazoo (as does Precious). I can’t wait to find them some cute clothes this weekend, but must remember to stick to a budget. I have a tendency to get carried away where my kids are concerned. I justify this by the fact that they are my kids and therefore deserve everything I buy for them. I need to back off of this to prevent spoiling them too badly though.

And if you’re waiting for it… No, this post has nothing to do with writing. When I first started this blog I wanted to focus on three things, writing being only one. I got off track though and devoted most of my time to the writing aspect of this blog. Probably because there is so much information out there about writing I became obsessed with wanting to share what I have learned. I fell into a writing daze.

This particular post is about my life. I wouldn’t have anything to write if I didn’t have a life. And though I often tout a lack thereof, I really do have a pretty darn good one! There are things in my life that inspire me and I want to share them. Not just with family, but with friends. And not just the friends I have in “real life” either. There are many people out there in the blog-o-sphere that have become good friends. I enjoy hearing about their lives and believe they enjoy hearing about mine. My community is not limited to driving distance anymore.

I also love reading but haven’t posted on that much either. The only things I’ve posted about reading are little bits and pieces of info on what I’m reading or wanting to read. I think reviews are soon in order. My book budget is limited, but I should be able to swing maybe one new book every two months or so (I’m still getting craft books as well, which I suppose I could post about too… Two birds and all). I’ve actually had a request to review a book and find myself very interested in doing so.

It’s important for me to remember that writing is not my life, but a part of my life. I wouldn’t be able to write if I didn’t have a life or read, the things that inspire my writing. Nor would I be able to appreciate what I read without writing or a life. And my life wouldn’t be full without writing and reading. I cannot have one without the other two. They are all connected so strongly that to deny any of them voice is denying myself my true voice.

What about you? Do you find yourself denying certain aspects and focusing on only one? Leave a comment! I love hearing from you=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Reading, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life: It’s Not Just About Writing

  1. Bluestocking says:

    I think to be a writer you need to be well rounded and have some variety of life experiences to draw on. Yes, being a dedicated if not consistent writer is important, but if you have nothing say, nothing to fuel your writing, no one will care. Happy writing and, more importantly, happy living!

  2. You're right. Finding a good balance is always difficult. My biggest challenge is making sure my writing life doesn't intrude on the rest of my life. ^_^

  3. Hi Kathleen:I've been discussing balancing all the things i want or need to accomplish this week. Seems to be the main topic of conversation. Weird. Just wanted to thank you for joining The Rule of Three Writing Challenge. We are happy to have you aboard and we hope you enjoy the experience. If you have any questions, please don't be afraid to ask. StuartTale SpinningRule Of Three Blogfest

  4. Life would be pretty dull if we only had one focus, you sound like you've got it all figured out nicely 🙂

  5. Misha says:

    Yep, instead of balancing, I look at my life as a juggling act. Sometimes I can manage hundreds of balls in the air. Other times I have to put some into a bag so that I can focus on one or two. Right now I'm keeping my writing at bay so that I can study for my economics final exam…

  6. Focus on one thing at once? Ha. And don't worry about spoiling those children. I love to spoil mine!

  7. li says:

    There's never enough time to do everything, I suppose. My chief complaint is that too many things take me away from writing! One thing I really miss is that my son, niece and nephew are now pretty much grown and choose their own clothes rather than letting me buy them. I used to love shopping for back to school clothes!And, welcome to the Rule Of Three blogfest…we're glad to have you on board 🙂

  8. Liz Fichera says:

    Oh, man! I love that Starbucks IV bag! (I may have to steal it). Writing is such a solitary activity and most writers (myself, included) are introverts. I purposely schedule stuff outside the house–e.g. lunch w/friends, the gym, shopping, etc. just so that I remember that there is life outside the house.

Comments are closed.