Thirsty Thursday Blog Round-Up: Week 13

        It seems as though, today, my brain is goo and resembles nothing like gray matter. I could blame it on Justin Bieber, but I really must blame my lack of sleep. You see, I stayed up past my bed time (yes I have a bedtime. I have children and, therefore, have a bedtime too) to read a book. I finally got a chance to read Bloodlines and am exhausted because of it.

That’s not why we’re here though.

Welcome back for another Thirsty Thursday Blog Round-Up where I fill your cup with a list of blogs to quench that thirst for writerly knowledge! The blogs are useful, informative, or entertaining.

25 Ways to Plot, Plan and Prep Your Story – Posted by Chuck Wendig at terribleminds

7 Essential Elements of Character Creation – Posted by Lynda R. Young at W.I.P. It

15 Frequently Confused Pairs of Nouns – Posted by Mark Nichol at Daily Writing Tips

How To Write Effective Dialogue In Your Novel – Posted by Gary Smailes at Bubblecow

How To Steal Like An Artist – Posted by Austin Kleon on his blog

All The Kreacher’s Men – Posted by S.P. Sipal on Harry Potter For Writers

Five Things The Writing Experts Won’t Tell You – Posted by James Killick on his blog

Voice Is Not Everything (but it is vitally important) – Posted by Lydia Sharp at The Sharp Angle

Five Ways to Make Your Dialogue Flow – Posted by Chynna at WOW! Women On Writing

How To Find Clichés In Your Writing – Posted by Dell Smith at Beyond The Margins

13 Ways Not to Start a Novel – Posted by Anne R. Allen on her blog

Dialogue – It’s Not Just Talking – Posted by Scott Eagan on his blog

Using Multiple POV Characters – Posted by Terry Odell on her blog

Why Understanding Conflict Will Make You A Better Writer – Posted by Gary Smailes at Bubblecow

Why Work Matters More Than Talent – Posted by Terri Giuliano Long on her blog

5 Ways to Make Our Stories Different & Unique – Posted by Silvia Ney at Writing In Wonderland

That’s all for today! Don’t forget to come back next week for another round=)

Have a blog post you like? Leave a comment with the link!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Thirsty Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thirsty Thursday Blog Round-Up: Week 13

  1. Julie Musil says:

    Now THESE are some great links! Thanks so much. A couple of them I've already read, but the others I'll check out now. Awesome roundup.

  2. Thanks for doing this. Now if you could help me find an extra hour to read them, I'd be thrilled. My body won't let me stay up past my bedtime, no matter how good the book is.

  3. Cheryl Reif says:

    Thanks for a terrific list!

Comments are closed.