Schedule Changes and August Reads

      So, I’ve come to the conclusion there are way too many awesome bloggers out there… I can’t keep up with you all! This Campaign is seriously full of great writers and bloggers and I find myself working less and less on my WiP… Which means I need to figure out a schedule. I just started getting the hang of the “Precious is in school now” schedule and now I have to get used to “Totally Awesome Campaign Blogs” schedule. I can do it. Just a few tweaks here and there and BAM! Schedule made and kept.

Which brings me to YAHighway. How you ask? Let me explain by first letting them tell you what today is:

“Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.”

     
     

      The topic for this week is “What’s the best book you’ve read in August?”

      Well, let me tell you… I’ve only read one, and I’m still not done with it.

      Characters, Emotion, & Viewpoint by Nancy Kress. Yes, I recently posted about how excited I was to have gotten The Hero With A Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell in the mail. And I am SOOO excited to read it! I even have my highlighter picked out. Alas, I haven’t finished the first. I need to take a day (it will actually take less than a day) and finish the first book so I can get to the one I’m so excited about. I’m always excited to learn new things and better my craft, but for some reason Joseph Campbell’s book gives me chills when I pick it up. And from what I’ve heard, it will live up to the expectation.

      The reason I haven’t read much this month isn’t only due to scheduling. No, it’s also because this month’s budget just doesn’t allow for many new books. With school registration for Precious and school pictures and school clothes… Next month will be better and I look forward to reading some good books about things other than craft=)

      OH! And, Bloodlines by Richelle Mead is out. My awesome sister pre-ordered it and will be letting me borrow it if I don’t have a chance to order it soon myself. That is definitely a book I MUST read!

      What about you? What good books did you read this month? Leave a comment and recommend something!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog, books, character, daughter, wisdom, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Schedule Changes and August Reads

  1. Sounds great!I'm a fellow campaigner and RTWer. Nice to meet you!

  2. I bought Bloodlines yesterday! I'm so excited about reading it, but I have to read books in the order I buy them (weird quirk). I love Richelle Mead, can't wait to read Succubus Revealed either,

  3. All the books I read this month were old ones – like you I'm severely lacking a book budget right now :-)Hope you get the scheduling thing tweaked okay. You're right, there are a lot of wonderful bloggers out there 🙂

  4. Kathleen says:

    @Alison – Hello! Welcome=)@Christine – Okay… don't even get me started on Succubus Revealed!! Have you seen the two sneak chapters that have been put up? I'm pretty excited and that is one book I may allow myself to go over budget on if I have to, lol!@Sarah – Thanks=) It shouldn't be too hard to get the schedule down. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. It's not my writing, but my novel reading that has suffered with the adding of all these blogs to my reader. I've read a third of the books I usually do in the past couple of weeks. Best wishes adjusting to a new schedule.

  6. Bluestocking says:

    I know what you mean about feeling squeezed by the campaign, writing time, and reading time! I find that whenever I'm drafting or doing heavy edits, my reading goes by the wayside. Social media will always be there, but it sounds like you should prioritize yourself for the next few days. Happy writing!

  7. I think I have that Nancy Kress book somewhere. I'm so behind on all my reading.

Comments are closed.