A New Blog Design, a Book, and Writer’s Block

     

       I entered a contest on Friday that featured the chance to win a new blog design. I won third place and will soon be the proud recipient of a new blog design! Yay! You have no idea how excited I am. The design comes from Janice Foy who hosted the contest on her blog Unreality. (You can find other designs of hers at The Blog Bakery.) Once we get all the design specs figured out, I think everyone will be impressed with her work=)

Also, arriving in the mail moments ago, a copy of The Hero With A Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell. I’ve been wanting to read this for ages and am now a proud owner of the book. Time for me to get out my highlighters! I still have to finish Characters, Emotion, and Viewpoint by Nancy Kress, but it shouldn’t take too much longer. Today is one of the less busy days of the week for me, so I am planning on getting not only a thousand words written, but the rest of my current read finished as well.

I’ve mentioned the new design and I’ve mentioned the book. Now it’s time to move on to that oh so dreaded Writer’s Block.

 
 
Over at YA Highway, they feature a weekly “Road Trip” where the contributers to the blog post on a particular topic. They also invite others to post on the topic as well. This week’s topic is:

How do you beat writer’s block?

Good question. Especially since I believe only in the MYTH of writer’s block.

Writers have been conditioned to believe in this myth and take it as truth. A block in the creative processes that prevents writers from doing what they do best.

I believe the myth of writer’s block stems from fear. It’s a niggling from the devil on your shoulder. Not only is it his job to try to convince you to do something you don’t think is a good idea, but it’s his job to make you believe the worst about yourself:

“You’ll never be good enough to publish a novel!”


“Your writing sucks! Who do you think you are?”


“Give it up before you make a fool of yourself!”

Do you want to get past the fear that’s causing your writer’s block? Knock that devil off your shoulder and just write. Screw what your inner critic (aka Your Shoulder Devil) and just get to it. So what if you think it sucks at first. Change it later. Writing isn’t about making it good. That’s what revisions and edits are for. Writing is about getting the ideas down on paper (or screen).

So, identify your fears when you’ve hit a block. What is it that scares you the most about this particular project or even the idea of writing in general? Once you identify your fears, they are easier to push aside and work around. Give it a try and you might be surprised at how easily writing comes back to you.
 
 
 
 
 
What about you? Do you believe in writer’s block? What do you do to get past it?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in advice, blog, ideas, Reading, revision, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A New Blog Design, a Book, and Writer’s Block

  1. Congrats on the blog redesign. In my case, writer's block isn't about fear, but more about fatigue.

  2. Congratulations on winning the blog design! And great advice on writer's block. I've had that devil on my shoulder for awhile now…time to knock his little butt off I guess. 🙂

  3. I didn't see your response, Alicia, but I know exactly what you mean. I fight fatigue all the time, but it wins too often.

  4. Kathleen says:

    Alicia, you are right about fatigue. All too often, I go to bed earlier than I planned due to the inability to keep my eyes open while sitting in front of the computer=) Thanks for stopping by!And Kristy, I would definitely kick that devil off! You can do it=)

  5. Wow that blog design will be gorgeous! I think writer's block that comes in the form of having no words could also be a sign of imminent burn out. If you never take breaks or rest then like anything the brain works over time to push on, it'll fizzle out.

  6. Congrats on the new design, must be exciting.i think the fear of not doing the idea justice rears its head when I've gone off track… and kind of freezes me. It's my subconcious telling me to re-think… not to surf the net.

  7. Kathleen says:

    @Steph – That is a very good point! It's important to be aware of pushing yourself too hard and taking breaks when needed so you don't burn out. Thanks for pointing that out!@Beck – It's your idea and only you can do it justice… Remember, the first draft is for writing. Revising is when you make it better!

  8. Damyanti says:

    I don't believe in Writer's block….I just grit my teeth and go on. Visiting here from the #writecampaign . Nice to meet you!

  9. I usually try and write something else until I can go back to my MS.Congratulations on your competition win, I won't get too cosy if you're redecorating 🙂

  10. Kathleen says:

    @Damyanti – That's the way to do it! Nice to meet you too=)@Sarah – That's a good way to go about things!It will be a couple of weeks before the design is ready and then the change should be quick and easy=)

Comments are closed.