A Milestone for (This) Mommy

Today, I took my daughter to her first day of Kindergarten. The entire family went: me, Hubs, and Little Man. We walked her to the front of the school where I took her picture in front of the school sign. We walked her inside and greeted a few people from her preschool class the year before. I kept a tight hold on her hand the entire time.  She tried to pull out a couple of times, but I wouldn’t let her… Not yet.

We went to her class room and I helped her find her desk. I took a picture of her putting her backpack in her locker and then one of her sitting at her desk. I told her to have fun and be good and that I’d see her after school.

It took every ounce of strength I had to turn around and walk out of the school with the rest of my family, leaving her behind. I wonder how the day will go for her.

For the last year, she has been adamant about being a “people and animal doctor and teacher.” Hubs and I tell her that she has to pay attention in school if she wants to be a doctor and teacher when she grows up. We can help her if she has any problems in certain subjects. As she gets older, Hubs will have to help her with anything beyond algebra.

When I was in high school, trying to learn geometry was like being caught in a rip-tide. Trigonometry was where I drowned from the exhaustion of trying to swim against the current. I never even tried calculus. My trig teacher understood I was trying. He saw the countless looks of “I don’t understand the words that are coming out of your mouth” on my face as I stared at him and the chalk board. He sent countless notes home to my brother (who was a math celebrity at the school, even 8 years after he graduated) asking him to help me, and he tried. And I tried.

I hope better for Precious. My daughter is smart. She catches on quickly and she asks questions. Sometimes those questions seem to come from left field, but they are connected to what was being talked about a few seconds before. I admit, I sometimes stumble in looking for an answer to her questions. I hope she has better luck at math than I did.

Today, I will pick her up from school and I will ask how her day went. I will look at any papers her teacher sent home and I will ask if she made friends with her classmates.

It’s mind blowing to think she will graduate in 2024. Isn’t she still supposed to be a baby? When did she get old enough to go to school? Before I know it, I’ll be helping her put her cap and gown on, watching as she takes her diploma, camera in hand just as it was today, and asking those same questions.

Anybody have a tissue?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in daughter, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Milestone for (This) Mommy

  1. When my children went to kindergarten, I was thankful someone else had to put up with them. Just teasing. They aren't in elementary school any longer and now I feel old.

  2. Kathleen says:

    You're only as young as you feel!! I still feel 18 at heart… Which confuses me when my joints creek=)

Comments are closed.