On Car Dealerships and Production

Today I spent two and a half hours at a car dealership waiting for a new DVD player to be put in my van. Most of my time spent in the waiting room was productive. The rest was informative.

I got some good outlining done on my new idea and a general idea of who my MC is going to be. The next step will be transferring from the notepad I wrote everything on to the scrivener project I opened up for it and, of course, more outlining. I’ve gotten a good start on a few parts and pieces that may end up going into the book. I don’t know if it will be a stand alone book or not, but I suppose there is always the chance it could blossom into a series… I like series. Most of the ideas I’ve gotten for books have been parts of series.

Anyway, when I reached a point that needed more thought and rumination than a dealership waiting room could give me, I moved on to other things. The TV was on the the waiting room. I learned of the riots going on in the UK and found myself hoping one of my crit partners doesn’t live in that area. It also occurred to me that a fellow blogger and writer friend of mine has gone to the UK recently and I hope for her safety as well.

I can’t say we live in crazy times because it’s always crazy somewhere in the world. Not to mention “crazy” just doesn’t seem to cut it. It’s like calling a busted balloon “deflated.”

The channel was on FOX News though, a channel I watch rarely, so when they started baiting a cop who came on to talk about the three siblings fleeing cops and on the lamb, I had to do something else.

There was a rack of magazines next to where I was sitting and I kept looking at them trying to decided if I wanted to read Better Homes and Gardens or Good Housekeeping. I’m not a gardener. I’m a writer and therefore, not that great at keeping house (the dishes do get done, eventually) so I found my choices limited. Then I found a Food Network Magazine hidden among the others (Field and Stream, Men’s Health, etc.).

I enjoy cooking. I don’t get a chance to do a lot of the cooking I would LOVE to do though. Not because of food allergies in the family. Not for health reasons. Nope. It’s because Hubs is an extremely picky eater.

Meat and potatoes. That’s it. No veggies except raw carrots dipped in ranch once every 3 years… Oh, and the occasional lettuce allowed to stay on a burger from a fast food joint.

Due to that, my cooking has been limited to things I know he will eat. It’s not so healthy for the kids, but I make veggies for the three of us.

One thing I did recently was buy 3 green bell peppers and tell him that these were intended for the kids and I to have for supper one night. “Stuffed peppers, and then you are on your own.” I don’t know why I was surprised when he said he’d wondered why I didn’t do that already. He’s kind of amazing and I forget that sometimes. So, dinner for the kids and I on some nights while he is left to his own devices. He’s okay with it, I’m okay with it, and the kids get to taste a few extra flavors=)




There were two recipes in the magazine that I wrote down. One was for Broccoli-Cheddar Potatoes and the other was for French Fry Franks. Mmm. The potatoes are for me (and the kids, but mostly me because I love me some broccoli and cheese) and the other is for the kids.

For now I must go though. Supper is done and baths need to be drawn for the little ones. There are still shows for Hubs and I to finish watching tonight as well. Maybe I’ll even do a bit more outlining and work on my WIP.

And if you haven’t heard yet, Taharah Mafi is giving away some ARCs of her book Shatter Me as well as some ARCs of some other books. Check it out if you want to enter for the contest=)
(Yes, I totally just did that to get an added entry to win. I’m also going to tweet it and facebook it =)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in blog, character, cleaning, Facebook, ideas, Life, MC, Twitter, WIP, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.