Sometimes You Have To

I don’t know how many authors have offered the advice, “Write Every Day.” I can’t tell you how many blogs I’ve read in just the few short months I’ve been reading them that say, “Write Every Day.”

I get it… But…

Sometimes, you have to take a break. I’m not saying, stop writing for weeks at a time. That’s a sure-fire way to get out of the writing business (and yes, it is a business). I’m saying take a break. A day, a couple of days, a week. Don’t stop completely, but RECHARGE yourself!

Take time away from the computer that has invaded your everyday life and do something else for a bit. Go on vacation and leave your laptop at home. Go for a hike and forget about your Blackberry or iPhone. Go to your local coffee shop and just sit for a few hours to stare out of the window at nothing and everything and leave your laptop, iPad, and Blackberry at home. Take your iPod (as long as it doesn’t have video chat capabilities… Yeah, I’m looking at you iPod Touch) and listen to your favorite album or playlist. Go for a drive to the local park or forest and watch the birds fly through the trees or the squirrels forage for nuts and don’t take anything that could distract you from escape!

There are a hundred thousand things you could do to get out of your house and away from the pressure of making that word count or that deadline. No, it won’t get you closer to finishing your work for your deadline, but it I guarantee it will make you feel better about your work. It will give you that jolt of energy you need to finish what you started. It will make your senses come alive again so that those details you have to write about are fresh and crisp in your mind. It might even make your writing fresher.

There is no telling what taking a break to recharge will do. So get out there and do something for just you. Take time away from your work and see what comes of it.

Like I said, don’t take months on end off… I’m talking about taking a day, a couple of days, or a week. I just took two days off where everything (even our home phone) was unplugged so we could move furniture and clean. I have sore muscles that I don’t think have names, but it’s worth it. I took time to look around me at what was there and what was important to me and it gave me a better perspective on what I want to accomplish with my writing.

You try it. You never know. Inspiration might hit. THAT idea. The one that will be a best seller… Sometimes, you have to take a break.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in cleaning, inspiration, Life, wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes You Have To

  1. This was right on time for me! Thank you for the reminder. Perfect advice!

Comments are closed.