Just A Few Tidbits… And Scrivener.

This is a very late post. There are reasons why, the main being I am exhausted!



Today has been one hell of a day. The planets must have been aligned just right for all the havoc that was wreaked.

My children, usually very well behaved (HA!) decided today was the day they would test just how much stress Mommy can endure. They almost broke me.

Almost.

It must have taken a lot out of Little Man though, because a miracle occurred. He not only went right to sleep when I put him down for his nap today, he also went right to sleep when I put him down for bed tonight! That NEVER happens! It’s usually a fight to get him to go to sleep. I guess hugging SpongeBob is his warm milk.

I’ll take it.

I didn’t get much (any) writing done today. Instead, I spent the day cleaning the house. It wasn’t so terrible that it needed it, but Hubs asked if I would, and with his stress level lately, I felt it the least I could do was oblige him. Besides, it gave me an excuse to listen to my music, which I can only do in the kitchen… (There is no reason why, it just is and you should accept that.)

Okay, on to something else…

Back in April, I posted about a new writing program I’m trying out called Scrivener. I lamented on the wonders of this program and how much I absolutely loved it…

Well, I still do! I use it for my WIP, my blog, and my short stories. The ease of use is wonderful, and now that I’m in the .26 version, a lot of the kinks have been worked out. (At one point in time, I couldn’t remove highlights from my text, but that’s been fixed… That’s beside the point though.)

Here is a screen capture of Scrivener:

On the left hand side is all the files that are a part of my project. The text is something I typed up for insight into the main antagonist of my story, Greggory. On the right, is the area for the synopsis, the meta-data, and notes. The synopsis part I use only for the Act file folders, but not for any particular text file. I do use the Notes section a lot though. It comes in handy for when I need to check something out when I go through revisions.

Anyways, I’m looking forward to when the beta testing is over and all the kinks have been worked out. The program will cost only $45. It is something I would definitely recomend to anyone out there wanting to find a better way to write than with just plain old Word.

What about you? What writing program do you use and would you recomend it to others?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in character, Life, Scrivener, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just A Few Tidbits… And Scrivener.

  1. mooderino says:

    I'm thinking about getting this when it comes out for PC. Didn't get the trial version, but from what I've heard from beta testers it lives up to the hype. moodMoody Writing@mooderino

  2. Kathleen says:

    It really does. I still have a few things I need to play around with, but for the most part, I'm really pleased with Scrivener.

  3. L.J. says:

    I absolutely love Scrivener! I've had it for a couple of months now and it has been a life saver for my WIP!

  4. Jen says:

    Hey! I gave you an award on my blog. Come check it out 🙂 http://abookagirlajourney.blogspot.com

  5. Hektor Karl says:

    I tried out one of the Scrivener betas, and I liked it, though I haven't stuck with it. It's definitely an interesting program. I might return to it some day.

  6. Rachel Law says:

    I've been using Scrivner too and love it. But I'm equally eager for the program to get out of beta mode… how irritating is it to be uploading the latest version every few weeks!As for your cleaning, that made me laugh. My house is always in disaster mode until the hubs particularly requests I do something about it. (Folding and putting the laundry away is usually his request. Apparently he finds it irritating to dig through piles of laundry for work socks every morning. Weird…)

  7. Kathleen says:

    @Jen – Much thanks!!@Hektor – It isn't for everyone, but it works with my style of writing. @Rachel – HA HA HA!! I have the same problem with laundry!!

  8. I hate days like that!And I use WordPerfect because I LOVE IT. Like, a lot. A lot a lot. I know it's not a program many people still use (which is why I also have Word on my computer), but it won't stop me from using it!

Comments are closed.