SyFy… Again… Sort of.

Yesterday I did a post about the SyFy Monday shows that I like… But they are too numerous to name in just one post. So, here I am again, doing a post on the shows that are currently airing. On Mondays… And a couple on Thursdays, but those aren’t SyFy shows… You know what? Let’s just say, these are the shows that are on and that I watch, SyFy or no SyFy.

First, running on SyFy Mondays, is Eureka.

I’ve been watching this show since it came out on SyFy and I must say I LOVE it!! It’s zany and fun and I can’t get enough. Not only does it have some amazing actors, but the characters are all very believable. This show, and it’s cast has been through a lot, and every week, some new and exciting adventure takes place. There’s even some major talent that comes calling every once in a while. For those of you who watch the show, but were unable to catch last night’s, I’m about to spoil something for you… STAN LEE!!!! That’s right! The man behind Spiderman, Hulk, the Fantastic Four, and so on, was on last night’s episode!! It was awesome… Oh, and for those Star Trek TNG fans, so was Will Wheaten.
Next, on the SyFy line-up, Warehouse 13.
I’m going to be honest with you. I started watching this show when it first aired on SyFy… and I didn’t like it much. But, I decided to give it another go, when this season started on Monday nights. There are two words for the reason… Aaron Ashmore. Not to be confused with his identical twin, Shawn Ashmore. So far, the added dynamic he brings to the show makes it fun for me to watch. I like what I’ve seen of this season so far, and though I’m a little lost on some of it, usually, every episode carries itself.



From there we go to the newest SyFy show, Alphas.
This is a brand new series that just started airing on July 11. Based on the idea that there are “people with the unique power to stretch the capabilities of the human mind giving them superhuman physical and mental abilities.” Basically… Think SyFy’s version of Heroes… Only saving the cheerleader might not do any good this time… There is no cheerleader so far anyway. I’m going to give it time, to see if I like it or not. It’s interesting so far, and I like a couple of the characters, but I feel there’s still a bit of room for improvement.

The next show is actually on USA on Thursday nights. Burn Notice.

Okay. So, while the show wouldn’t be the same without Jeffrey Donovan as Michael Westen or Gabrielle Anwar as Fiona Glenanne, I must admit those two are not why I watch the show… Bruce Campbell as Sam Axe and Sharon Gless as Madeline Westen are the two people that MAKE that show… Not to mention, it’s kinda hard for me to get over Jeffrey Donovan from Blair Witch 2… He was creepy in that movie. Still, my favorite episodes are when they do homage to Nior. They do a great job with it!
The next two shows are more my husband’s shows, but I watch with him. They air on Thursday nights on FX. Wilfred and Louie.
Yes, it is a man in a dog suit, but only to Ryan (played by Elijah Wood). It’s been adapted from an Australian show of the same name. The first time my husband and I saw a preview for this show, we were speechless. We looked at one another, each wondering if we did, in fact, see what we thought we just saw. I mean, It couldn’t be real… Could it? A man sees a dog as another man in a dog suit? What the hell? But it’s still really a dog? We were intrigued, to say the least. So far, we’ve seen every episode, and they are messed up in such a delightful way, I think I’ll have to watch just to see what happens next!

This guy’s life is crazy! Seriously! The stuff that happens to this guy is nuts! And, if I’m going to be honest… I cannot stand the youngest girl on the show…. It might be the fact that in last weeks episode preview, they kept show her yelling “I’m Bored” over and over again… As a mother, I get it… And I don’t want to hear it when I’m trying to laugh at a show… BUT, I digress. It’s a fun show and the stand-up he includes in it is good stuff=) I’d recommend it to… Anyone who isn’t offended easily.

That’s it for today. Tomorrow? The cancelled shows I love and why my husband blames himself for one of them.
What about you? What shows are on right now that you watch? Is it the actor, the premise or something else that you like about your shows?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in character, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SyFy… Again… Sort of.

  1. Easy – the reason Eureka is on this list is because it's the best American scifi show we've had in a LONG time. So good. So very, very, very good. This and Haven are rocking my socks off and it's only the first of the season.

  2. Kathleen says:

    You know, I really couldn't get on board with Haven. I have been contemplating giving it another try though. It may just not have been what I was in the mood for at the time… You are right about Eureka though!

Comments are closed.