Confession

I’m shy.

SHH!! Don’t tell anyone!!

It’s true though. My husband doesn’t even realize it, but that’s because he remembers me from high school when I knew everyone and had nothing to fear. Everyone already had an opinion of me, and I was just fine with that.

Now, as a writer, I find myself wondering, how do I connect with the lovely people on Twitter? I have not yet gotten into Google Plus, but as soon as I get the email saying I can come on in, I’ll be figuring out what Chuck Wendig is talking about when he says Circle Jerks… I am very curious to know.

But will I have the same problem on Google Plus as I do on Twitter? I love getting on Twitter and seeing all the great conversations of my fellow writers. I love seeing people connect… But I worry about connecting myself. I did all right for a while, when I first started on Twitter… And then that cold hard fear of rejection burst out of it’s hiding spot in my subconscious and I froze.

You see, I’ve been following Kristen Lamb’s blog for a while, and she talks about Brand a lot. What is your writer brand? Well, I certainly don’t want my brand to be “Idiot Writer Who Tries Too Hard.”

That’s where shyness comes from though. It’s a fear of how others will perceive you, so you keep quiet… And the world passes you by without much notice. I don’t want that either.

So, what do I do? Do I allow myself the shyness and let the world pass me by? Or do I get out there and let people see me for me, whatever that may lead to?

I’m a nice person. I usually see the silver lining in any bad situation and try to convince others it’s there. I like to think of myself as a happy-go-lucky kind of gal. Laid back.

But then I get onto the social networking sites and I suddenly have absolutely nothing to say. In life, I’m a pretty talkative person. On the computer, I can type up 1000 words of my WIP in just a couple of hours if I put my mind to it. On Twitter or Facebook? I freeze.

I need to get over it. I’ve had conversations with people on Twitter through #pubwrite. The peolple I talked to followed me and I followed back. It’s a wonderful thing, Twitter. I need to get out of this shy zone I’ve painted myself into though and stop being a lurker…. I mean… I don’t go looking through people’s windows in real life, so why am I lurking in a digital sense? It’s kinda unnerving now that I think about it…

So, I’ve set myself a goal. Every day, when I log on to my TweetDeck and I see something interesting, I won’t just RT it, I’ll comment on it. I’ll say something about it. I’ll also stop watching converstations as they happen. I will jump in if I find one I like and speak up. I will not allow myself to fall prey to the fear of rejection anymore…

Because if I don’t talk at all, I certainly will be rejected.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Life, social networks, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Confession

  1. I'm also really shy, but there's just something about the internet that gives me confidence. I do wish the best of luck in over coming this and gaining yourself a larger fan base (:~Joseph Eastwoodhttp://josepheastwoodxd.blogspot.com/

  2. Kathleen says:

    Thanks Joseph! And I'm glad that the internet makes it easier for you to connect with people=)

  3. Hektor Karl says:

    "I suddenly have absolutely nothing to say."It's strange how that can happen. I've been there as well :)The internet is both filled with wonderful opportunities and the constant risk of being overwhelmed. I like your statement that "I will not allow myself to fall prey to the fear of rejection anymore." Cheers to that! And hopefully I'll talk to you again soon.

  4. Kathleen says:

    I look forward to it, Hektor!!

  5. You are not alone. I have the same problem.

  6. Kathleen says:

    We shall overcome, Miranda!! I believe it=)

  7. Glad it's not just me!Great post 🙂

  8. Kathleen says:

    Hey, Kit! Glad you could stop by!

Comments are closed.