From Books to Movies

I went and saw Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2 last week. It was great! I would love to sit here and talk to you about all the wonderful parts that made it a great movie, but I’ll wait until a time closer to the end of it’s run. That way, I don’t spoil it for anyone… Who hasn’t read the books that is=)

What I am going to talk about, is Books to Movies. Very recently there has been an influx of books being adapted for the screen. Harry Potter for instance. The book series wasn’t even over when they picked up the first one and made it a movie. Twilight was the same way. (The cameo Stephanie Meyer makes in the diner? She has said she was working on Breaking Dawn during that scene.)

      

As I type this, casting is going on for the adaption of Cassandra Clare’s book series The Mortal Instruments. I have read this series as well and can say I am looking forward to seeing how the movie pans out compared to the book.

Casting for another YA series has begun too. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I recently read these books. And I must say I really don’t get how Peeta is supposed to be so hot and sexy. He’s not my type anyway… That’s beside the point though.

In The Mortal Instruments, the two main characters are being played by Lily Collins (Clary Fray) and Jamie Campbell Bower (Jace Wayland). I pray they can do better with this one than they did with Twilight. (Don’t get me started on how horrible the acting is in the Twilight films…. I could go on for days!)

The Hunger Games is cast completely. It includes some heavy weights such as, Stanly Tucci, Donald Sutherland, and Woody Harrelson. I must say that I look forward to seeing how they play the roles they were cast. The main characters are being played by Jennifer Lawrence (Katniss Everdeen) and Josh Hutcherson (Peeta Mellark). I have never seen anything Jennifer Lawrence has been in, so I’m interested in seeing her talent. I have seen Josh Hutcherson in some movies and think he is perfect to play Peeta. I must say, I am more interested in seeing this movie than I am The Mortal Instruments.

       There are a few reasons why…

1)The Heavy Hitters-

I LOVE Stanly Tucci. Let me tell you. Every movie he’s been in (and I’ve seen. I’ll admit I haven’t seen them all) I have loved his character… Well, except for in The Lovely Bones. His character was absolutely deplorable in that movie, and I love him all the more for playing it so well. Then you add in Donald Sutherland. Holy shit, if he was younger… Yeah, you heard me right! And, for some reason, people I talk to never seem to give Woody Harrelson enough credit! I’ve been a huge fan of his since Cheers.

       2)The Not-So-Heavy Hitters (yet)-
Jennifer Lawrence was in an episode of Monk and has been acting since she was 14… That means she’s got HUGE potential in my mind. Now, Lily Collins is a bit different. She was in the TV remake series of 90210… I wasn’t a fan of the original, so I wasn’t a fan of the newer series either. I see The Mortal Instruments as a more “teeny-bopper” movie so far. Jamie Campbell Bower may help save the movie, but if they keep dropping in teenage soap opera stars, then I may just throw up. Then you have some other well known people who haven’t had as huge a career as others, but are still well known, such as Elizabeth Banks (who will ever forget the bathtub scene in The 40 Year Old Virgin?) and Lenny Kravitz.

       3)The How-Are-They-Gonna-Do-It Factor-

Such a young cast dealing with some pretty heavy stuff. The death of so many, including a young girl that Katniss becomes close with. The little “gifts” that come down via parachute to land exactly at the feet of it’s intended giftee at exactly the time they need it. The back story… How are they going to include the back story? With The Mortal Instruments, I see it as being a bit more straight forward. To me, it was a romance, where as The Hunger Games was a survival story. Will they be able to tell the story as well as Suzanne Collins did?
      
       4)I Want To Be Convinced-
I mentioned how I don’t get how Peeta is seen as such a heart-throb in the books. I wasn’t really for Gale either, but I wanted Peeta to win Katniss’ heart. I also wanted him to win mine, but he never really did. I want this movie to prove to me that Peeta is swoon-worthy. Of course, now I feel kinda dirty considering how young Josh Hutcherson is… Still, I want to be convinced.

       5)Investment-
I was more invested in The Hunger Games than I was The Mortal Instruments. I knew how the latter was going to end, but the former always had me on my toes. Don’t get me wrong. I love The Mortal Instruments series, but The Hunger Games has a tighter grip on me.

Those are the five main reasons I’m more interested in seeing The Hunger Games. Have you seen the cover of Entertainment Weekly with Jennifer Lawrence on it?

Now, if either of these movies turns out the way Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief did, I will shove my hand through the screen and bitch-slap everyone I can… And then go throw up for wasting so much time watching a crap movie when I could have been writing.

What book to movie adaptations are you looking forward to?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in character, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.