Emails and Ideas

The other day I wrote a bit about Inspiration.

According to Dictionary.com, the meaning of inspiration (as if you didn’t know already) is:

— n
1.stimulation or arousal of the mind, feelings, etc, to special or unusual activity or creativity
2.the state or quality of being so stimulated or aroused
3.someone or something that causes this state
4.an idea or action resulting from such a state
5.the act or process of inhaling; breathing in

Well, today I was inspired. I don’t know exactly what it was though. I was reading an email I subscribe to by Holly Lisle. In it she talked about a woman telling her to stop using words she (the woman) didn’t understand. The woman even went so far as to “yell” at Holly Lisle for using the word Hell…

Yeah, my thoughts exactly

In the midst of reading this email and shaking my head at the absurdity of the woman, a flash of an idea hit me. The idea had nothing to do with what I read in the email. At least, I can’t find anything to do with it.

And yet, somehow it stimulated my mind, which sparked an idea, which sparked the beginning of a story.

I completed the short story of 1388 words just 2 hours later. A bit of tweaking here and there and by the time 3 hours had passed, my story was complete as a first draft.

I have submitted this story for critique in two of my groups. It is very different than the one I submitted before. I wonder how people will respond.

Still, it’s amazing how doing the most mundane of things can be the driving force behind creativity.

Now I ask: Have I used the word Hell, or any other word you don’t understand?

Real question:

Has this ever happened to you? Where do your ideas come from?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in critique, inspiration, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.