A First for Critique

      I have done something this weekend that I have never done before. I submitted a piece of my writing for critique. Honestly, I didn’t know what to expect. I was all but certain people would tell me that I was stupid for ever trying to write, and that I should just quit. That, or no one would respond to it at all.

So far, I’ve had three reviews and all of them helpful. The reviews confirmed certain things I had wondered about anyway, but they also pointed out a couple of things I had skipped right over without seeing. I feel really good about the reviews and the critiques that I have gotten. The story I submitted needs work, but I knew that already. The work isn’t going to be as terrible as I thought though. I won’t have to rewrite the entire thing. I just have to find those chunks and bits and tweak those.

I’m gonna tell you, right now I’m on cloud nine! I submitted my work, scared to death of what people would say, and find myself very pleasantly surprised at how professional everyone who reviewed it was.

One review said the work was melodramatic, and yeah, it really is. I was balling my eyes out the entire time I wrote it, and didn’t want to leave a single piece of that emotion out. I am going to have to tone it down. I think I know how I can do that without compromising the writing or the story and still remove the melodrama from it.

Another review said that she didn’t buy into my mother and daughter duo walking through looting and rioting to just go eat a meal. I can see that. How would the daughter not see it? How would it not affect them at all, even in their home? Definitely something I will have to work on. I think I have an idea on how to fix that too.
All in all, a good couple of reviews so far. There will be more in the future I’m sure, and I look forward to those as well. And since this experience has been positive, I don’t feel so scared to submit my work anymore. I know now that there are professionals out there willing to help. And that is a nice thing to see=)

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in character, critique, review, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A First for Critique

  1. shelliesakai says:

    I gave my one page synopsis to a fellow writer/friend for critique. Spent the whole time scared you-know-what-less. I was give a very professional review that did point out certain things that I wondered about myself. Scary but wonderful experience!

Comments are closed.