Link Your Handle To Your Content

Those of you that follow this here blog-o-mine may know me from Twitter, but do you really know me? Currently, my Twitter handle is @katiebeme… As in Katie be me. I had one woman tell me my smile is like my handle and I realized she thought it meant Katie Beam… Not quite, but I liked the compliment anyway=)

Well, it turns out, my handle is not a good idea. Kristen Lamb has a blog that deals with writing and blogging and networking via social networking sites. Every Tuesday she features a blog topic known as “Twitter Tuesday.” I was going through her archives, checking out things I might have missed before I started this whole networking thing and noticed “Twitter Tuesday #17” (no, that is not a hashtag… I don’t think). In this post she mentions how handles on Twitter should be linked to you and the product you are selling – i.e. @iamtheone should be @DanielJackson. (Yes, I am a Matrix and Stargate fan… No, I do realize one has nothing to do with the other… Don’t make fun!)

Anyway, I can see the point of this. If, when I am done writing my book and it gets published and becomes hugely successful, people want to buy the book they’ve heard so much about, how are they going to find it if they can’t find me? If I’m going to use Twitter to it’s full advantage, I need to change my handle to something that people will connect with my books…

Therefore, I am going to be changing my handle name to something along the lines of @Kathleen_Doyle, since that is my name. Did you know that? Have I even put that on my blog before now? Well, there you have it. Kristen Lamb is my Twitter savior AND my connected-to-content savior. Thank you Kristen!

Do you have a handle that doesn’t connect you to your work? Do you have one that does? Do you have both? Tell me all about it!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in social networks, Twitter, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.