RESEARCH!!!

Daisies in flower garden
By Martin LaBar

Monday, I started doing research on the meanings behind various flowers. I looked through various websites trying to find specific meanings. I thought I had hit the jackpot Monday afternoon when I found a site that was everything I thought I needed. There were even flowers I had never heard of before! I spent the rest of Monday transferring the information onto my computer and saving it. I was thrilled.

Turns out I shouldn’t have been.

Tuesday morning, I decided to look into these flowers more and add pictures to what I found on the meanings. Wow, was I surprised to find out that most of these “flowers” were actually trees. The names listed were actually the genus of trees. Now, I’m not a scientist nor am I a botanist, so I had no idea these were not what I was looking for. Tuesday morning, I was in a very bad mood.

Hey!By Hector Landaeta

I had to delete all the research I had done and start all over again. I found a few sites, this time with pictures tied to the flower names, many of them flowers I had actually heard of before. I didn’t get my hopes up though. I transferred what I found and labeled everything as needed. By that evening, I was in a better mood, but soiled on the idea of doing more research. I took the rest of the night off.

This morning, I woke up feeling much better and decided that I had a few more things I could look into on the interwebz and got to it. FINALLY I found the perfect site. If you ever need to know about flowers, check out Teleflora. You can even order flowers from them!

Now that my online research is done, I am headed to the library. It’s small, so I don’t know if I’ll find anything useful, but it is still the next step. From there, Amazon.com will be a dear friend of my paypal account!

How easy is it for you to do research online?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in library, research, WIP, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.