Sick Kids + Cleaning House = Ixnay on the Itingwray!

by sanja gjenero

        I hate it when my kids are sick. And not solely for the reason of hating to see them feverish and sickly and pitiful… No, I hate it for another reason too… I don’t get to write as much. It’s selfish, I know, but it’s true. I love to write and I hate it that I can’t write because my kids need that extra care their sickliness requires.

You see, both of my kids have been kind of sickly this past month. First, it was my daughter freaking me out because she was vomiting on a strange schedule (morning, following evening, day-after morning, and so on) and her behavior had changed. It was the behavior part that freaked me out at first. Precious wasn’t being the normal fun-loving, jumping around, laughing at everything little five year old girl I know as my daughter. It wasn’t until later the vomiting came and I made an appointment with the doc. Simple stomach virus lasted about a week. She got better…

And then Little Man got it. He has never vomited before… Sure, he spit up as a tiny little baby, but nothing so violent as aiming for a bucket across the room… I thought I could catch it in my hands… He gets better and half a week later, he’s now suffering from a cold. His coughing fits are horrible and reminiscent of a smoker’s hack. We have to watch his fevers (much worse than with the stomach bug) because he has a history of febrile seizures.

When he gets better from that, I think we’re home free.

My niece, Queenie, comes over for a slumber party with Precious this past Friday and she is just getting over something (I don’t know what) herself. Everyone is feeling fine (except for the exhausted adults trying to keep up with the over-active, just-got-over-a-sickness kids) and the slumber party goes off without a hitch (don’t mention the water I forgot to add to the blizzard maker Precious got for her birthday making the ice cream remain in just cream form for thirty minutes of churning).

Then, Sunday morning, Precious tells me her throat hurts. She has a very slight fever, and so I lay her down in my bed to rest and watch cartoons thinking the slumber party took a lot out of her too…

Nope. That night, her fever is worse and when I look at her throat, her tonsils are swollen I decide if they are still swollen in the morning I am taking her to the doctor. I give her medicine for the fever and send her to bed. Monday morning comes along and when I check her fever, it’s too high for my comfort and her tonsils have swollen enough to where I can’t make out where that little hangy-ball thingy is supposed to be. You know what I’m talking about, right? That little thing in the back of your throat that hangs down… Yeah.

Anyway, I call her doctor and get her in. It’s not strep, but we don’t know what’s causing the tonsillitis.  We just have to wait and see if it gets better. Today, her fever is down a bit but her tonsils are still swollen though not quite as much. I kept her home from preschool and have let her watch the second and third Harry Potter movies (she watched the first before bed last night).

What does all of this have to do with not being able to write? My prime writing time is when Precious goes to school and Little Man takes a nap. When she is sick, she stays home from school and that takes from my writing time. When he is sick, he naps at odd times and so is usually awake when Precious is at school. No writing for me then.

I also write in the evenings when Hubs gets home from work which was impossible to do on Friday when the girls were watching movies in my room where my desk and computer are located. I could have written during the day, but I was too busy cleaning the entire house from top to bottom because I had slacked off on it for the last couple of days (read weeks). Writing is not so easy when you’re trying to take care of sick kids and clean the house at the same time. Not to mention going to the doctor’s office is a bit of a hindrance on the writing thing without a laptop.

Now, I don’t blame my kids and I certainly don’t take it out on them when I can’t write. It’s not their fault they got sick! It just happens! I do miss it when I can’t write though. Not to mention, I prefer my kids healthy and happy, not sick and pitiful. Doesn’t every parent feel that way?

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in cleaning, Life, sick, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.