Can I Write While I Sleep?

The last two weeks have been so completely and utterly busy it was all but impossible for me to get any writing done.  I got maybe a paragraph a day, and some of my paragraphs aren’t that long.
Now, for the most part, nothing new has been added to the daily routine to cause me so many problems with getting to my writing. I think the days got shorter somehow; the world must have started turning much faster on its axis. That’s what I say and I’m sticking to it!

There were two things that took a lot of time though.  First, my daughter’s 5th birthday! I had the planning, the reserving, and the wrapping and preparing of gift bags for her friends.  We invited every one of her preschool friends which numbers around 15 I think? Anyways, add in their moms and/or dads and there were going to be a lot of people there.  Time to order a cake the size of one picnic table and snacks that take up a whole other one! That’s an exaggeration of course, but you get the point.  A lot of people were invited. I knew not everyone was going to show up, but I was pleasantly surprised at how many did=)  Precious had a blast playing at the city park (where her party was located) with all of her friends, and of course made out like a bandit with the presents.
This joyous day followed a very somber week.  The Saturday before, we found out that my brother’s girlfriend’s son had passed away.  For how long they had been together, my brother and his girlfriend, she and her son were a part of the family, even if not by marriage or blood.  His death, at 8 years old, was because of a type of cancer called Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma (DIGP) that effects children from 5-10 years of age.  It is incurable.  For those who are curious, the pons (for pontine) is in the brainstem, and anyone who has taken biology knows that this part of the brain is the most important in that it controls our automatic functions (breathing, heartbeat, etc.).  He was diagnosed in September of last year and passed away on the 23rd of April.  The viewing was on Wednesday and funeral was on Thursday.
His mother is very strong.  She is doing better than I ever could in such a situation.
Now that the weeks have settled I am hoping to get back to writing like I was doing before.  In the last couple of days I have been able to go through the last two chapters I’d written and do a little tweaking. They hadn’t felt right while writing them, so I knew I had to fix them before I was able to move on.  I’ve gotten that done and they are now going in a direction that flows better with my story.
Now it’s time for me to get the rest of it written.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can I Write While I Sleep?

  1. Glynis says:

    How terribly tragic, I am so sorry.

Comments are closed.