Balancing Life and Writing

By Jakub Krechowicz

I am a mother and a wife in addition to being a writer.  I have a beautiful little girl, Precious I shall call her, who is turning five very soon.  I also have a boy, Little Man, who is two.  Precious goes to preschool four days a week for three hours a day.  While she is in school, Little Man takes his nap.  This is prime writing time for me.  I have no distractions as my husband, Hubs, is at work.  That is not the only time I write though, and I have had to find a balance to be able to keep a full time job (enjoyable as I find it, motherhood and wifedom is still work) and write full time too.

Weekends are hardest for me.  Everyone is home and since my husband is off of work, it’s the only time the family has to spend entire days together.  Of course, this makes it difficult for me to write, as I am part of that family.  So, I get up early in the morning and write a little.  Then I stay up late and write a little more.  I try to find five minutes here and there to get some writing done, but I still spend as much time with the family as I can.  My weekends are my slowest writing days.  I’m lucky if I get 1000 words written.

I used to try to catch up on Mondays, tacking on an additional 2000 words to the 2000 I already have as my daily goal.  That didn’t work out to well… I found myself so frazzled from trying to get it done and trying to keep my daily routine I probably looked like the guy from Young Einstein. Crazy hair is not a good look for anyone!  I don’t care who you are (*ahem* Robert Pattinson *ahem*)

I figured it out though. I don’t need to catch up.  The few words I write during the weekend are just fine.  At least I did get some writing done.  And if my family is happy with the weekends, why shouldn’t I be too?!
So balance is what I’ve found.  Allowing for family and friends in addition to my writing.  Now, when I wake up on Mondays and sit down at the computer to write, I feel refreshed and ready to take on my goal.  Who’s frazzled?  I’ve never been happier!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Balancing Life and Writing

  1. Glenn Rogers says:

    Nice article! And very true…

  2. Weekends are difficult!! I find myself with the best of intentions on Saturday morning and by Sunday evening, I'm spent and exhausted and not even close to what I thought I would accomplish. I'm with you, as long as we try and the family is happy, that's all we can ask for! 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    @Glenn- Thanks for stopping by!@sycamoremeadows- I used to long to be at the computer working on my MS on the weekends until I learned to balance myself… I wasn't getting anywhere with my WiP until I started enjoying those weekends with my family. It's an amazing feeling to have a good balance!

  4. Julie Musil says:

    It sounds as if you've mastered balance, which is no easy task! Sometimes I need to stop, remember that the writing will be there after this family activity, and relax. You have a beautiful family!

  5. Hi there, You are so right about finding that balance. Finding time for writing is amazingly difficult at times. Great post.Blessings Nicole

  6. Katie says:

    @ Julie- I went back and forth on my balance for a while… Wishing I was with the family when writing and wishing I was writing when with the family. And yes, relaxing is in important part of both family life and writing life!@ Nicole- Thanks for stopping by! It is extremely difficult to find the time to do things that you love, with or without a family!

Comments are closed.