Hitting the Wall

Brick Wall
By Ian Britton
For runners, there is a point during a marathon when they feel they cannot go on, they cannot possibly finish.  They refer to it as The Wall.  I am not a runner.  I hate running.  I am a writer though, and I have just hit my writer’s version of The Wall with my WIP.  I was sitting in front of my computer, word processor up and ready with the file, and I just sat there, staring at it.  What in the hell am I doing? I wondered to myself.  This is all shit! No one will want to read this!!  I felt as if everything I’d written was infantile. 
I cannot say that I’ve never felt this before. I have with many an attempted manuscript…. Did you notice I said attempted? That’s right. Every time I have hit the wall with other writing projects, I have deemed it to high to scale, and too long to go around. I have turned around and walked away. I have never finished a book. I have been too scared and thought my ideas weren’t original enough. Everything I wrote, once I got to that Wall, was worthless and crap. I refused to keep writing.
Not this one though. I intend to keep writing… I am DETERMINED to keep writing. I know for a fact that this wall I’m facing right now is nothing. It is made of paper mache and all I have to do is rip through it and continue on. This feeling WILL PASS!! I will get excited about my WIP again! I will think, Someone needs to read this! I have made it farther in this book than in anything else. I am doing it and I will keep doing it and won’t stop until it’s done. The last words I write will be THE END.

About Katie Doyle

Katie lives in the wilds of Southern Indiana, surrounded by neighbors and other such dangerous creatures. When she’s not building blanket forts, she’s telling her kids to do their homework and attempting to keep the peace between the two. She’s good at wrangling the dog who loves the cat but terrible at wrangling the cat who hates the dog. In her spare time, she and her husband binge watch shows on Netflix or she’s writing things that don’t make sense until they do.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.