They Shall Remain Nameless…

yell!
By kandyjaxx
I wonder sometimes, Is it just me or do other writers get as much grief from their characters as I do?  Here lately they refuse to tell me their names.  I get their personalities lined out and give them a bit of back story (sometimes more than a bit when they won’t shut up), only to have them laugh at me when I ask what their name is.  Oddly enough, for the first couple of chapters in the book I’m writing now, there is one man simply known as “The Man” because my main character doesn’t really get a chance to find his name out until later. It seems everyone else has nameless-character envy…

Anyways, I’ve tried just slapping them with names, but they usually just slap me back harder.  I’ve tried asking for hints and they tell me it starts with a letter in the alphabet (I ask which alphabet and they tell me to guess!) and I shake my head about and rage at the heavens for making my characters so freaking stubborn!

 *Deep Breath… Deep Breath*
There, a little better now.  I suppose it’s because I’ve had an odd day with some wickedly weird dreams last night.  I don’t remember the dreams, but I do remember waking up and slapping my glasses off of the nightstand. Little Man has been running around the house all day, pumping his fists in the air, and screaming “BANZAI!!!” over and over again.  Precious has been running around after him when not at school and telling him he’s not supposed to be running around the house.  (I love when I see irony in action in my own house.)
Yeah, so I’ll blame all that then. Distraction and such… 
Evil, stubborn characters.

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to They Shall Remain Nameless…

  1. alberta ross says:

    My first two chacters popped up in my head with no fuss and although her name is not one I would have chosen it does actualy suit her – the rest I resolutly give to my characters- (too many now by third in series for them to have any say)them – look up meanings and then allocate to characters which suit – if they don't like I say – tough – go stay in someone else fiction – usualy settles the argument!!!

  2. Glynis says:

    After three years of writing my novel, I have just changed a few names of the characters. The book is much stronger. I never have problems finding names, it is having too many with the same letter that trips me up.I have three boxes, one with girls names, another with boys and then surnames. I pull out one from first name and one from surname until satisfied. A mini matching game. Keeps me amused for hours. LOL

  3. Katie says:

    Alberta- That's basically what I had to buckle down and do last night before going to bed. Unfortunately my characters were screaming in my head the entire night because of it, but what can ya do?Glynis- That is actually a really good idea. I might have to start doing that!

Comments are closed.