Midnight Musings

My new flip-flops!!!
By mystik

Spring has officially arrived!! Or so I hope. I don’t know of any temperature drops in the near future, but the weather is fickle.

Still, I hear birds chirping away in the morning,  my windows are open pretty much all day long, my kids are going to the park, and I see trees starting to bud. It is beautiful! I love spring. It is my favorite season. With every spring comes new hope.

And with this spring comes a new set of sandles.  Last year, at the beginning of spring, I had two pair of sandals.  One was a brown pair of thong sandals, the other was just a plain old pair of black flip flops.  By mid summer my brown ones broke (I’d been wearing them for a couple of years and they saw lots of use… they died an honorable death) and I didn’t replace them. Soon after, my black flip flops broke… ???!! 
I had to replace those and quick.  They were my go-to pair of shoes! I wore them as house slippers and I wore them when I left the house as well! If those weren’t on my feet, nothing was on my feet!  I did replace them… And the new pair broke by the end of the summer. (That’s what I get for going cheap and easy!)

Now I am without sandals of any sort, and I am DYING!!! I could say ‘quite literally’, but you wouldn’t believe me. It is bad though. I, for some ungodly reason, have extremely hot feet. They burn!!! (no, I do not have athlete’s foot… they are just really, really, really hot). Add spring and summer temperatures to burning feet and extreme measures are needed. I went shopping recently and found an awesome pair of Nike flip flops that would have worked as my go-to pair for every day wear… But there were none in my size. I don’t have freakishly large feet or anything, it just appears everyone else who liked those particular sandals also wore my size… It’s plain to see a conspiracy against me! (Sorry, listening to Paramore a lot lately.)
So far, every place I have looked for a pair of sandals and flip flops has these horrid things I would never even consider wearing until I am 80 and too senile to know better… Or, if I do find a pair I like, they are WAAAAY outta my price range… Evil Designers!
So, now I am stuck with burning feet that scorch pavement when barefoot and no flip flops to allow for less burning and no scorching.
I must go. My shoe rant is over and Hershey’s Drops won’t eat themselves… Though I’m sure they would if they could. YUUMMMMM!!

About Katie Doyle

Katie Doyle is an avid reader, writer of NA and Adult fiction, a mom to two tornadoes that resemble an eight and six year old, and pet to a tuxedo cat named Oz and a German Shepherd/Boxer rescue named Charlie. If she's not reading, writing, or getting Oz out of a tree, she's screaming at characters on TV and trying not to curse around her kids.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.